Learning to {Wakeboard}

When Xtreme Wake signed up with us, I was hesitant to try their wake boarding classes as I was still haunted by my terribly failed attempt to waterski on our honeymoon. I definitely wasn’t too keen on swallowing another gallon of sea water.

But when my brother came to visit from Qatar he was looking for  some adventure so I put my pride aside and called the guys from Xtreme Wake to book us a session. In my head, I comforted myself with the though that if I was still too chicken to try it I could at least soak up some rays on their gorgeous new boat – not a bad way to spend a Friday morning if you ask me!

Early on Friday morning, five us of met the team at the Marina Walk where their boat is docked. Karim & Ahmed, the owners of Xtreme Wake, are super friendly and immediately put everyone at ease. We headed out towards the boat (which is AWESOME!) and set out onto the water.

Leaving the marina

Leaving the marina

My two brothers were both experienced with water sports and started off the lessons with ease. With the bar set that high, I was even more nervous to go next.

Karim showing Ousama the proper starting position

Karim showing Ousama the proper starting position

Sami gearing up

Sami gearing up

Ousama getting fancy

Ousama getting fancy

It was my turn next, and with my competitive edge setting in, I was adamant not to let my brothers outdo me.

Putting on a brave face

Putting on a brave face

Karim gave me a few pointers on the proper way to start and how to stand up and then off I went into the water. As the boat began to pull, I immediately found myself swallowing seawater. Apparently, I was far too eager to stand up and caused myself to faceplant into the water – not too impressive of a start! However, with a few corrections and tries, I actually found myself standing up and staying up! I had always imagined wake boarding to be harder than waterskiing, but in reality it was FAR easier. It amazed me at how simple corrections to your positions could make the whole process so simple and enjoyable.

After two hours, we had all had a shot at the sport and agreed that it was definitely something we would want to do again. Being out on the water with the great weather, great company, and learning something new all added up to a fun and memorable group experience that is worth repeating!

The group

The group

Check out our Facebook page for the rest of the pictures!

{The facts}
Activity: Wake boarding
Provider: Xtreme Wake
Location: Dubai Marina Walk
Timing: Fridays & Saturdays
Duration: 2 hours [anything from 1 hour to a full day is available]
Price: 1,000 AED
Maximum participants: 5
Book it

Leave a Reply

