Learning {Boxing}

The Champion Club ain’t no country club. If you’re expecting pristine white towels and water bottles handed to you as soon as you step off the treadmill, you’ve come to the wrong place.

Enter the club, and you can immediately smell it in the air – competition, intensity, and sweat. I walked in not knowing what to expect of my upcoming boxing class, but was greeted with a lovely taster, as I was able to watch the class that was just wrapping up before mine. The first thing I noticed? There was only one girl. Gulp.

I watched as punches were thrown and sweat went flying and asked myself if I was prepared to get a fist flung at me. Thankfully, the two girlfriends who were joining me arrived so I was not able to answer my own question before entering the ring.

Our class began with a half hour warm up on the mat. Classes are done barefoot so I highly recommend bringing socks for hygiene purposes. After the warm up was done, the class was led by one of the senior coaches Atan Canlubo who took us through the basic moves. When we were comfortable with them, we put on our gloves and paired up on the punching bags to practice what we had learned. This part of the class was an amazing stress buster, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t imagine a few faces on that bag.

For the remainder of the class we applied the basic punches and jabs on both the bag and pads. The coaches assess the level of each group, and when the group is more advanced they also add partner sparring into the training. Thankfully, our group was mostly composed of beginners.

The Champion Club is the perfect place to go if you are looking for an intense workout and no frills. Highly skilled coaches lead the classes and focus on giving you proper training and an unbelievable workout. My favorite thing is that they pushed us women just as hard as the men so we all could be at the same level.

Today I feel like I’ve been run over by a bus and I cannot lift my arms above my head, and that’s exactly why I know for sure that I will be back for more. In my book, a workout isn’t a workout if you don’t feel the need to collapse after it and continue to feel its effects for days!

{The facts}
Activity: Boxing
Provider: The Champion Club
Location: Icon Tower II, Cluster L, Jumeirah Lake Towers
Timing: Sunday & Wednesday. 18:45 & 20:00 on both days
Duration: 1h30min
Price: 60 AED
Book it

Leave a Reply

